Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch contains and searches as one both Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covers 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Scope: United States and Canada.
Dates: 1959 to present.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis)This link opens in a new windowNearly 10,000 full text resources on news (national and international), legal information and business. General news topics and transcripts can be searched for by either a keyword or source title. Legal information can be searched by citation, parties involved, or topic. Company information can be searched by either company name, or ticker. A full company dossier is available. Searches can also be done by content type or by using the advanced search options.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.
AllAfricaThis link opens in a new windowA distributor of news from over 140 African publishers, (government, opposition-controlled, and independent) with stories posted daily in English and French. (Includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).
Scope: Africa.
Dates: 1997 to present.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1980 to present.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1984 to present.
Amnesty International"Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people who take injustice personally. We are campaigning for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all." Visit "Latest" to stay informed with News, Campaigns, Education, and Research.
BRAC"BRAC is a development organisation dedicated to alleviating poverty by empowering the poor."
Human Rights Watch"Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media."
Global Policy Forum (GPF)"Global Policy Forum is an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking. We promote accountability and citizen participation in decisions on peace and security, social justice and international law."
Databases
Politics CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection provides access to PAIS Index, Wordlwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), Policy File Index, and Political Science Database. It covers the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Providing abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch contains and searches as one both Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covers 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Scope: United States and Canada.
Dates: 1959 to present.
World Bank's DataBankThis link opens in a new windowThe World Bank's DataBank is the gateway portal to the World Bank's World Development Indicators, Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, and Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. Multiple datasets are available and users can access DataBank publications and the Data catalog.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies. Approximately 1960 to present.
Sociology CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with Sociology Database and Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1952 to present.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)This link opens in a new windowSocial sciences and humanities resources on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Contains 300,000 records, 170,000+ of which contain full-text links. Search for articles in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Scope: North, Central, and South Americas.
Dates: 1970 to present.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1906 to present.
Social Sciences Full TextThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to 330 academic journals and indexing for more than 750 periodicals covering the social sciences. Subjects include: addiction studies, anthropology, communications, economics, ethics, family studies, gender studies, international relations, political science, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1972 to present.
Official Document System of the United Nations"The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. "
UNdataKeyword searchable database over 50 million records from the United Nations and its agencies. Includes demographic, economic, education, health, environmental, agricultural, and technology indicators.
UNDP: United Nations Development Programme"UNDP works in nearly 170 countries and territories, helping to achieve the eradication of poverty, and the reduction of inequalities and exclusion. We help countries to develop policies, leadership skills, partnering abilities, institutional capabilities and build resilience in order to sustain development results."
Additional Resources
BBC News - Country Profiles" Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. "
Political Economy Research Institute - University of Massachusetts, Amherst"Established in 1998, PERI is an independent unit of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, with close ties to the Department of Economics. PERI staff frequently work collaboratively with faculty members and graduate students from the University of Massachusetts, and other economists from around the world. Many of these colleagues have become PERI Research Associates. Since its founding, PERI has become a leading source of research and policy initiatives on issues of globalization, unemployment, financial market instability, central bank policy, living wages and decent work, and the economics of peace, development, and the environment."
Wilson Center: Digital Archive"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation."
