LibGuides: Political Science: U.S. Politics

News and News Sources

At Sarah Lawrence College Library:

Black Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Newsstand-Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989-present, and is cross-searchable with all of the newspaper collections on the ProQuest platform including ProQuest National Newspapers and U.S. Hispanic Newsstand. Scope: United States. Dates: 1989 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch contains and searches as one both Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covers 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Scope: United States and Canada. Dates: 1959 to present.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis) This link opens in a new window Nearly 10,000 full text resources on news (national and international), legal information and business. General news topics and transcripts can be searched for by either a keyword or source title. Legal information can be searched by citation, parties involved, or topic. Company information can be searched by either company name, or ticker. A full company dossier is available. Searches can also be done by content type or by using the advanced search options. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies.
National Newspapers Premier This link opens in a new window This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Scope: United States. Dates: Varies.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Full text access for more than 60 U.S. and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Also contains full text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, and other stations. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies
New York Times This link opens in a new window Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1980 to present.
Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window Includes indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals in the United States and Canada, as well as full-text of selected periodicals. More than 450 periodicals are included with full text access to articles for over 260 journals. Scope: United States and Canada. Dates: 1983 to present (indexing); 1994 to present (full-text).
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1984 to present.

Alternative Press & Media

Democracy Now! Democracy Now! is a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.
Independent Media Center The Independent Media Center is a network of collectively run media outlets.
Alternative Press Center The Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press. They also publish the Alternative Press Index.

Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present. Over 1800 journals indexed. Scope: United States and Canada. Dates: 1895 to present.
Government Printing Office (GPO) This link opens in a new window Provides access to official government publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Congressional bills, documents, hearings, records and reports, in addition to a compilation of presidential documents, and other government documents can be searched for and accessed here. Scope: United States. Dates: Varies.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full text collections of legal journals, texts, cases, statutes, regulations, presidential materials, treaties, as well as international and foreign legal journals, cases and materials. Content is in the original page-image (PDF) format, ensuring the authenticity of the original hardcopy document. Content includes historical and current materials. Collections include Law Journal Library, History of International Law, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register Library, Legal Classics, Women and the Law (Peggy), U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window Provides access to documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include federal, state, and local governments, international governments and institutions, non-profit and private organizations, and academic institutions. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA, and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Full-text access to 330 academic journals and indexing for more than 750 periodicals covering the social sciences. Subjects include: addiction studies, anthropology, communications, economics, ethics, family studies, gender studies, international relations, political science, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1972 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts is the fundamental index for sociological scholarship. Indexing and abstracts for books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. This database is useful for research on culture and social structures, family and marriage, history and theory of sociology, organizational sociology, political sociology, poverty and homelessness, race and ethnicity, inequality, social change, economic development, social control, and sociology of health and medicine. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1952 to present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexing of journal articles and citations to book reviews from publications on the international literature of political science and international relations. Abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers are also included. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1975 to present.

News, Media, and Politics

C-SPAN C-SPAN.org provides access to C-SPAN's daily coverage of Washington as well as to the C-SPAN Video Library, with over 270,000 hours of C-SPAN video since 1987.
Factcheck.org "We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania."
Fox News View Fox News coverage of the 2016 Presidential Election including: primary and caucus results, results by state, and additional stats and polls.
Politico Political news about Congress, the White House, campaigns, lobbyists and issues.
Politifact "PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. PolitiFact is run by editors and reporters from the Tampa Bay Times, an independent newspaper in Florida, as is PunditFact, a site devoted to fact-checking pundits. The PolitiFact state sites are run by news organizations that have partnered with the Times. The state sites and PunditFact follow the same principles as the national site."
Real Clear Politics "RealClearPolitics is the trusted, non-partisan, convener in a content-rich media environment; thoughtfully curating the best coverage from every angle of the day's most critical issues."

Librarian Tip: Remember to always evaluate your resources! Whether they are peer reviewed articles or editorials from a newspaper, take the time to review who produced the work, the author's perspective and/or motivation, and the objectivity of the piece as a whole.

Additional Resources

The American Presidency Project An extensive collection of materials relating to the Presidency including election data, speeches, party platforms, documents, and other materials.
TV News Archive - Internet Archive
View clips from 1,025,000 shows since 2009. Use the advanced search option to filter results by TV Network or show title.

Political Science: U.S. Politics

News and News Sources

Alternative Press & Media

Databases

News, Media, and Politics

Additional Resources

Podcasts & Radio

Have Questions?