LibGuides: Education: Articles & Databases

Education Databases

Recommended

Education Collection This link opens in a new window This comprehensive collection for Education research searches both ERIC and Education Database. Providing abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers and more, including full- text from hundreds of leading education journals. Subjects include works on primary, secondary, higher, special, and adult education, special needs, and hundreds of related topics. Scope: Worldwide Dates: 1966-
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text of articles from over 520 journals as far back as 1983, in addition to indexing of over 1,000 periodicals dating back to 1969. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, in addition to subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods. Scope: English language journals. Dates: 1969 to present.
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with Sociology Database and Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1952 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present. Includes journals, articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include: communication systems, applied, developmental, educational, experimental and animal psychology, personality, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, and psychometrics and statistics. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1806 to present.

Additional Databases

PAIS International This link opens in a new window The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) database provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on topics relating to global policy and social issues. Coverage is international and topics range from human rights to law, ethics to trade. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1915 to present.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Full-text access to articles on humanities, arts, and social science journals from more than 260 publishers. Related subjects include: literature and criticism, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, history and political science. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1995 to present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and indexing for scholarly articles, book reviews, and dissertations on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Community and mental health services, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, social services in addiction, social work in education and practice, violence, abuse, and neglect, and professional issues in social work are also covered in this database. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1979 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Full-text access to 330 academic journals and indexing for more than 750 periodicals covering the social sciences. Subjects include: addiction studies, anthropology, communications, economics, ethics, family studies, gender studies, international relations, political science, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: 1972 to present.

Gallup Education Polls, reports, and articles on education in the United States.
U.S. Department of Education Data Offers a multitude of data reports on education in the United States. Includes links to National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), What Works Clearing House, Nation’s Report Card, and federal datasets from Data.gov.
NOVEL NY - Database List NOVELNY is an online library of literally hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker, free of charge. All you need is your public library card, New York driver license -or- New York Non-Driver ID. Students may also access the NOVELny databases through their school or academic library.

Gallup Education Polls, reports, and articles on education in the United States.
Institute of Education Sciences (IES) Independent education research, evaluation and statistics which includes National Center for Education Research (NCER), National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), National Center for Education and Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE), and National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER).
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) "The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education" It includes resources for different levels of education and includes The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) ("the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America’s students know and can do in various subject areas").
U.S. Department of Education Data Offers a multitude of data reports on education in the United States. Includes links to National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), What Works Clearing House, Nation’s Report Card, and federal datasets from Data.gov.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics International education statistics from the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.
The World Bank: Education Statistics (EdStats) "The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is a data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity. Data sources include administrative country data from UIS; international learning assessments (PISA, TIMSS, PIRLS, PIAAC, and EGRA) and three regional learning assessments (SACMEQ, PASEC, LLECE); World Bank databases, household surveys such as LSMS, DHS, MICS surveys. It includes World Bank Education Projects Database classified by activities, components, and sub-sectors of all World Bank Education Projects since 1998."

Keywords	Subjects
Natural language words that describe your topic	Pre-defined "controlled vocabulary" that describe what an item is about
More flexible search - looks for anywhere the words appear in the record	Less flexible search - only the subject fields will be searched
Broader search, but may yield irrelevant results	Targeted search; results are usually more relevant to the topic, but may miss some variations

Keyword searching is how we normally start a search. Pull out important words or phrases from your topic.

Subject Terms and/or Headings are pre-defined terms that are used to describe the content of an item. These terms are a controlled vocabulary and function similarly to hashtags on social media.

We are indebted to the MIT What are subject headings and keywords? box for some concepts displayed here.

In the Catalog, subject headings are displayed under "Description" in the record of an item. Click on the arrow to the left of "Description" and then scroll down to the section called "Subjects."

In the Databases, subject headings may be listed as Descriptors, Subjects and/or Subject Headings and are typically located in the Abstract and/or Details of an article.

Google and Academic Databases

Google, and more appropriately Google Scholar, can be valid places to search for articles and organizations. However, subject specific databases will have more advanced search options and articles. Here are some key differences between databases and Google.

	Library Databases	Google	Google Scholar
Types of Information You Can Find	Scholarly journal articles Newspaper articles Reviews Theses & dissertations Empirical evidence	Popular, commercial, educational websites Organization websites Directories Current news & events Few free journal articles & books (many academic publications are not free)	Educational websites Theses & dissertations Conference publications & presentations Scholarly journal articles (but access will be restricted to free resources, see below for how to set up SLC links)
Credibility & Review	Subject specific books and articles Evaluated for accuracy and credibility	Lack of control allows anyone to publish material Usually not evaluated for accuracy & credibility	Some resources evaluated for accuracy & credibility, but not through Google, so need to verify review process for each publication
Discovery	Database functionalities allow users to search for & find more relevant results	Less ability to search for & retrieve precise results Not releasing information on algorithms, paid products can float to the top	Less ability to search for & retrieve precise results Not releasing information on algorithms, therefore it is not known why results float to the top

Setting Up Google Scholar for Off-Campus Access to SLC Resources

Education

Can't Find the Full Text?

Filtering Your Results

Have Questions?

Education Databases

Keyword and Subject Searching

Google and Academic Databases