To access all online resources go to: www.clever.com/in/yonkers - Click LDAP log in
User Name: email address
Example: 123456@yonkerspublicschools.org
Password: Computer password
If after searching the WLS catalog you find that they don't own an item, contact Mary Robison (mrobison@ypl.org) or Eileen Fusco (efusco@ypl.org) or call 914-375-7966.
Keep in mind that newspapers from the time period you are researching are often considered primary sources.
Google Books contains vast amounts of primary and secondary source materials and is particularly useful in searching for print materials that are out of copyright (printed before 1922).
Each book includes an 'About this book' page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books you may also see additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books. For every book, you'll see links directing you to bookstores where you can buy the book and libraries where you can borrow it.
Viewing materials: If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you can download a PDF copy.
Research Databases & Homework Help:
Use your YPL card to log in to the following electronic resources:
Frequently Asked Questions:
What is a reference book? You can use reference books to find basic facts and general overviews of topics. They are usually located in the Reference Department of the library and can’t be checked out.
Why use reference books? To get a better sense of the topic area before beginning research; to check quick facts, such as names, dates, and locations. Unlike the Internet, books don’t suffer technical difficulties!
Types of Reference Materials:
Dictionaries: Brief definitions of words and concepts, either general or within the context of a subject area; arranged alphabetically.
Relevant Dictionaries
Encyclopedias: Brief discussions of specific topics; generally more detailed than dictionaries. Arranged alphabetically, often with bibliographies at the end of each entry (leading to additional articles/sources).
Relevant Encyclopedias
Atlases: Collections of maps that organize all kinds of information (not just directions) geographically; organized by the principle of the atlas: geographically, chronologically, alphabetically.
Relevant Atlases
Directories: Organized lists of people, businesses, organizations or associations, including addresses, telephone numbers, and other contact information. Arranged alphabetically, geographically, or by subject.
Relevant Directories
Almanacs: Often published annually, almanacs contain calendars, facts, statistics, and other miscellaneous information; organized by subject, usually with an extensive index.
Relevant Almanacs
Biographical Resources: Written accounts of people’s lives, often collected by subject area; usually arranged alphabetically by last name.
Relevant Biographical Resources
Handbooks: Concise guides to specific topics; arranged variously, usually with extensive indexes.
Relevant Handbooks
Indexes: Guides to periodical literature like magazines and newspapers; published periodically and arranged alphabetically by subject.
Relevant Indexes
Note: At Yonkers Riverfront Library most Print references can be found in the Reference area on the third floor.
To access JSTOR use the username: ibstudent and password: yonkers
Access to the databases listed below is available only while at the SLC library.
Primary Source Resources at Yonkers Riverfront Library
Find out more about what primary sources are on our Evaluating Resources page.