LibGuides: Health Sciences: Images & Video

Image Resources

Academic
Free

Note: The academic databases are not specifically related to the Health Sciences but will possibly have images relating to these subjects.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Image database with over 2 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Images are provided by numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. More than 100,000 images added each year. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies.
Luna - Digital Image Collections This link opens in a new window Database of digital images from the Sarah Lawrence College Visual Resources, the Luna Commons Collections, and the Amica Library. Narrow searches by keyword, format, location, and artist; save images to a workspace and generate embedded links. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies.

Cell Image Library The Cell Image Library is a public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
Internet Archive Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, music, images, TV news, and more.
National Library of Medicine: Digital Collections Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources, including their History of Medicine resources and historical films & video.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) from the CDC Images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MeSH is used to organize by hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
Wellcome Images A database with over 170 000 historical and contemporary images, covering medical and social history, contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

Historic Images

Looking for historic images? See our Historical Health & Medicine Research Page.

Video Resources

Freely Available

Cell Image Library The Cell Image Library is a public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
Khan Academy: Health and Medicine Videos produced by the Khan Academy on different health & medical topics - including anatomy and physiology, disease, and more.
MedlinePlus Videos Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games.
National Library of Medicine: Digital Collections Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources, including their History of Medicine resources and historical films & video.
Science 360: Medical Sciences News videos presented by the National Science Foundation on Medical Sciences.

Flickr and Google Image Searches

Google Image Search Search by words, size, image type, and even color. Use the 'Usage Rights' section to look for images available for reuse.

Flickr Advanced Search Use the Advanced search to search images with Creative Commons licenses (can also check for commerical use or modification rights).

Flickr Commons The Commons offers access to images with no known copyright restrictions from over 70 institutions. In almost all cases, the images have already entered the Public Domain. Users can limit their image searches to a specific institution or keyword.

When and How Can I Use an Image?

Just because you find an image online does not mean that it is free to use. When using an image, make sure you use media with a stated license (for example Creative Commons and Public Domain) or determine if your intended use of an image is covered under Fair Use.

Can I Use That Picture?

Newbold, Curtis. Can I Use that Picture?. 2014. The Visual Communication Guy. Web. Accessed August 25, 2017.

You must also always cite an image, just as you would a work in print.
For information on how to cite sources, visit this page.

Creative Commons helps people to share their works with the world.

Creative Commons licenses are a standardized way to give others permission to share and use a piece of work -- on conditions of their choice. To find out how you can use an image with a Creative Commons license review the license type listed.

Learn more with the Creative Commons Flyer
Visit the Creative Commons website to learn how to share your work and use & remix Creative Commons licensed works.

Depending upon when a work was created, it might be in the Public Domain.

Copyright Term and the Public Domain, a guide to copyright duration created by Peter Hirtle at Cornell University, is a comprehensive and useful resource for researching a work's copyright status. You can also use the Copyright Slider from the American Library Association for quick reference.

As a general rule, works registered or published in the U.S. before 1923 are in the public domain.

Have more questions? Check out our Copyright Guide and/or