LibGuides: Gender, Education and Opportunity in Africa: Home

Databases

Below are subject-specific databases available through the Sarah Lawrence Library that should be useful for this course.

If you find an article in a database like African Journals Online but there is no full text, copy the name of the article and paste it into our catalog. That will likely bring you to a record where you can request it through interlibrary loan. If it is not in our catalog, email the library at reference@sarahlawrence.edu and we will find it for you. Do not pay for articles!

African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access research publications from Africa that address the continent’s challenges in health, education, climate change & under-development.
Scope: Africa
Dates: 1990s to Present
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
A distributor of news from over 140 African publishers, (government, opposition-controlled, and independent) with stories posted daily in English and French. (Includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).
Scope: Africa.
Dates: 1997 to present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
This database contains abstracts and indexes over 500 journals from more than 19 countries on social science and related subjects.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1987 to current.
Education Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection for Education research searches both ERIC and Education Database. Providing abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers and more, including full- text from hundreds of leading education journals. Subjects include works on primary, secondary, higher, special, and adult education, special needs, and hundreds of related topics.
Scope: Worldwide
Dates: 1966-
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of articles from over 520 journals as far back as 1983, in addition to indexing of over 1,000 periodicals dating back to 1969. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, in addition to subjects including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods.
Scope: English language journals.
Dates: 1969 to present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts of gender scholarship on topics including gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, and gender identity. Includes more than 1 million scholarly and popular sources such as professional journals, books, conference papers, working papers, theses, and more.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1930 to present.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of diverse publications focusing on gender studies. Search through scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government, and special reports. Gender Watch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, family, and transgender studies, gender differences, equity, identity, and studies, femininity, evolution of the women's movement, womens studies and men's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1970 to present.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) database provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on topics relating to global policy and social issues. Coverage is international and topics range from human rights to law, ethics to trade.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1915 to present.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection provides access to PAIS Index, Wordlwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), Policy File Index, and Political Science Database. It covers the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Providing abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts and indexing for scholarly articles, book reviews, and dissertations on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Community and mental health services, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, social services in addiction, social work in education and practice, violence, abuse, and neglect, and professional issues in social work are also covered in this database.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1979 to present.

You can also find lots of wonderful resources in our large, interdisciplinary databases:

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, academic database which searches thousands of full-text journals and magazines and more than 1,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Contains information in nearly every area of academic study.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Mostly 1975 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly, multidisciplinary, database that currently includes thousands of academic journal articles, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles on humanities, arts, and social science journals from more than 260 publishers. Related subjects include: literature and criticism, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, history and political science.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1995 to present.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of periodicals from one of the most inclusive general reference databases that ProQuest has to offer. Search through a diverse mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 topics.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.

UN Agencies

United Nations Library
UN Library Research Guides
Links to research guides prepared by the UN to help researchers to conduct research with UN documents and how to access all sorts of UN information
UNDP (United Nations Development Programme)
Select OUR IMPACT at the top of the page to see their publications and more about their projects.
UNESCO
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations aimed at promoting world peace and security through international cooperation in education, arts, sciences and culture.
UNESDOC: The Digital Library of UNESCO
Access to publications, documents and other materials either produced by UNESCO or pertaining to UNESCO’s fields of competence

Other International Agencies

World Bank's DataBank This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's DataBank is the gateway portal to the World Bank's World Development Indicators, Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, and Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. Multiple datasets are available and users can access DataBank publications and the Data catalog.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies. Approximately 1960 to present.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) This link opens in a new window
This database maintained by the IMF organization contains dozens of datasets including Government Finance Statistics, Financial Development Index, International Finance Statistics, Gender Equality statistics and much more. Information can be searched by indicator or by country.
Scope: International.
Dates: Varies.
IMF Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Available through the International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary.
Scope: Worldwide
Dates: 1990 to present, International Finance Statistics from 1948 to present
OECD Economic Outlook This link opens in a new window
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development Outlook is published twice a year and provides coverage and analysis on the economic policy measures in each OECD member country. Through the OECD iLibrary, users can search through eBook titles, tables and graphs, articles, multilingual summaries, working papers and key tables on the OECDs analysis and data.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1967 to present.
OECD National Accounts Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD National Account Statistics includes data on public sector debt, central government debt, GDP, disposable income, and general government accounts for OECD countries and non-member economies.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1955 to present.
OECD Social and Welfare Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD Social and Welfare Statistics provide reliable, international statistics on social expenditure. A wide range of social policy topics are covered including: old age, survivors, and incapacity-related benefits, health, family, and active labor market programs, unemployment, housing, GINI, poverty, income inequality, and more.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies. Some data back to 2009.
OECD Tax Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD Tax Statistics provides information via two databases - The Revenue Statistics and The Taxing Wages databases. Includes tax and other government revenue data, taxation and social security contributions as percentage of GDP, in addition to information about taxes paid and benefits received by workers.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1975 to present (Revenue); 1979 to present (Taxing Wages).
STAN: OECD Structural Analysis Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides data on annual measures of output, labor input, investment and international trade. New tables and data are made available as soon as they are published by OECD.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 2005 to present.

Google Scholar

Use with caution! Try the databases and websites listed elsewhere on this page first.

Gender, Education and Opportunity in Africa: Home

Welcome

Databases

UN Agencies

Other International Agencies

Google Scholar