Below are the workshops we held in the Library in the Spring 2023 semester. If you missed one but want to hear more about what we presented, you can make a research consultation and we can cover the material with you one-on-one. To schedule a consultation, visit https://calendly.com/slcreference or email reference@sarahlawrence.edu.
11am and 1pm, Meet at the Library Lobby Info Desk
Start the semester with a walk through the library collection and study spaces. Learn how to locate books easily, browse the shelves effectively, and find the best little corner to study in this semester.
Using the Catalog
February 2
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
The catalog is the gateway to all of the wonderful resources available through the Library. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to use the catalog to search for books and ebooks, request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), find course reserve materials, review your account, and more.
FEBRUARY 2023
Researching with Databases
February 9:
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
Databases are an essential resource for your research. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to find and access the many databases available to you through the Library. We’ll cover how to select relevant databases, how to search for articles, how to download articles, and more.
February 16
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
PubMed is the one of the largest and most comprehensive databases of biomedical research articles, covering genetics, neuroscience, public health, behavioral health, life sciences, and so many more. Come to this workshop to learn some of the specialized search functions that PubMed offers that allow you to search specifically and comprehensively on your topic!
Understanding and Using Google Scholar
February 23
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
Google Scholar can be an incredibly helpful tool in the research process, but it also has some serious pitfalls. It needs a careful eye to differentiate the different kinds of sources that it may turn up—from scholarly works to fraudulent predatory journals, from “grey literature” to undergraduate papers. Learn how to use Google Scholar’s best tools without compromising the credibility of your research.
MARCH 2023
Understanding and Using Wikipedia
March 2
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
Learn about how Wikipedia works, and how to make it work for your research. We’ll also cover how Wikipedia works and how to create and edit content on the site.
The Magical Citation Manager: Zotero for Research Management
March 9
1 pm in E1 Classroom, Library Lower Level
Have you struggled keeping track of your conference research? Realized last minute that you don’t have all the citation information you need to include? Found yourself desperately re-doing your research because you can’t remember where you saved that super important source? Come to this workshop to learn how Zotero can help you keep track of your research for all your classes and projects, store and organize all kinds of sources, and ultimately generate your citations in virtually any citation style.
All the Cinnamon Squirrels: An Intro to NYC Open Data
March 23
1 pm in Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
NYC Open Data has everything from the 2018 Central Park Squirrel Census, restaurant health inspections, and every film permit granted in the city. So how can you use it? This workshop will show you how to find, understand, and use the data from NYC Open Data.
----------
Using the New York Public Library Research Division
Wednesday, March 29, 6 pm
Did you know that you have access to the vast and phenomenal resources of the NYPL Research Division? Come learn about the virtual and physical resources as well as the assistance available to you through NYPL.
Presented by Mia Bruner, Librarian III, Instruction and Outreach, NYPL General Research Division
https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
----------
Researching Social Justice & Civil Rights with HeinOnline Databases
Thursday, March 30, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Explore databases focused on legal histories and scholarship pertaining to the civil rights movement, LGBTQ rights, and indigenous peoples. This workshop will also be helpful to those researching in politics, law, international relations, and global studies.
Thursday, April 6, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Learn how to find and retrieve census data with a Census Bureau specialist. He will cover the differences between the Decennial Census and American Community Survey (ACS) and will explore the concepts needed to find datasets: population thresholds, geography relevance, question structure, table numbers, and mapping of variables. We will demonstrate the data.census.gov portal, and then look at data-retrieval problems together. Time permitting, we will take a quick look at the ACS Narrative Profile tool.
Presenter Bio: David Kraiker is a Data Dissemination Specialist at the US Census Bureau, where he has worked for 24 years. Previously at the Bureau, he worked as a Geographer in the local New York office.
----------
Thursday, April 13, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
We all know that we aren’t supposed to plagiarize, but are you sure you know what it is and how to avoid it? Join us for this workshop where we will define plagiarism, learn how to paraphrase, discuss when to cite, and more.
----------
Thursday, April 20, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
It’s not too late to add archival materials to your conference project research. But, archival research does require patience and planning. This workshop will offer a practical introduction to archival research, both in our own college archives and in archives at other institutions.
Interested folks who cannot attend this session are invited to set-up a one-on-one consultation with the archivist: https://calendly.com/christinakasman/archivesconsultation
----------
Thursday, April 20, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your citation questions and learn how citation can be quick and easy.
----------
Thursday, April 28, 12-2 pm
Library Lobby
Did you know that as a Sarah Lawrence student, you qualify for library cards from Yonkers Public Library and New York Public Library? With these cards, you can access books, ebooks, magazines, databases, museum passes, and so much more—all for free! Stop by the Library lobby to sign up for your cards and to learn more about the resources available through both amazing library systems.
Part of our celebration of National Library Week.
----------
MAY
----------
Thursday, May 4, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Graduating? Not going to be at Sarah Lawrence next year? Join us for an overview of how to conduct research in the "real world." We'll look at many ways of finding materials when you don't have access to the resources provided by Sarah Lawrence. We'll also cover the resources and services available to alumni.