LibGuides: Psychology: Ornstein-Sloan

Suggested Resources

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PAIS International This link opens in a new window

See the Articles & Databases page on this guide for more Psychology databases or use one of the guides listed in "Other Useful Guides" on this page to find other databases based on your topic's subject.

Emotion, Space and Society
Environment and Behavior
Print only.
Gender, Place & Culture : A Journal of Feminist Geography
Note: Our subscription ends in 2000, use ILL for articles after this period.
Health & Place
Journal of Environmental Psychology

Databases

TOXNET This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window National Institute of Healths website for patients and caregivers produced by the National Library of Medicine containing information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Includes a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, health information in Spanish, and information on prescription drugs and clinical trials. See “Videos and Tools” to see health surgery videos, tutorials, and more. Scope: Worldwide. Dates: Varies. Updated regularly.

Health Statistics & Demographics on Health Sciences Guide
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine This database offers you the ability to search across the publications of the The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and in many cases access the reports for free (online). These reports include Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and more.

Useful Webpages, Organizations, and Health Resources

Project for Public Spaces "Project for Public Spaces (PPS) is a nonprofit organization that helps people create and sustain public spaces that build strong communities."
CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This is a direct link to the CDC website where you can search literature and images that they have released on topics such as Zika, Cancer, food safety, and so much more. Go to CDC Stacks to find their publications.
NYC Health: Health Topics A curated list of health topics, with links to information on and publications, from the NYC Health Department.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. You can find Health Topics, research, and more from the NCCIH here.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Resources supplied by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. This includes access to program & services information, an A-Z Index of topics, and access to resources like the FDA and Office of The Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation reports.
Culturally Connected From the Office of Population Health Promotion, BC Women's Hospital & Health Centre, "CulturallyConnected provides practical information and tools to enable health professionals to better support the health of children, youth, women, and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds."
Division 34 "Behavioral researchers and practitioners who conduct and apply research and advance theory to improve interactions between humans and our natural and built environments."

More on Finding Alternative Resources

Trying to find information about a specific topic, condition, community, or field? Find a report, organization, or school dedicated to the study and research of that particular topic. One way to do this is to Google the subject you are interested in. An example of this would be if I wanted to find research on the impact of climate change on food insecurity in India. I Google "food security" AND "climate change" AND India and find the report Climate Change and Food Security in India. This Report has information from many different resources, so not only is the report useful but the bibliography will also lead to other pertinent sources and I can investigate the think tank that the report was completed for.

Another strategy is to look for news coverage of your topic to see if they mention organizations involved in the field. You can do a similar search as above but limit to News.

Can't find what you are looking for? Ask a librarian for more help!

Subject & Keywords

See our Keyword vs. Subject Searching box (on this guide) for more information.

Due to the specific nature of research and the interdisciplinary nature of this class, there are a multitude of Subject Terms you might want to use, depending on your topic, but here are a few to get you started.

Related Subject Terms:

Due to the specific nature of research and the interdisciplinary nature of this class, there are a multitude of Subject Headings you might want to use, depending on your topic, but here are a few to get you started.

subject("Environmental Attitudes")
subject("Environmental Planning ")
subject("Environmental Psychology ")
subject("Health Attitudes ")
subject("Health Care Psychology ")
subject("Social Environments ")
subject("Sociocultural Factors ")

Information Creation Timeline

Information is created in different formats and at varying times. The formats are usually dependent on the time in which the information is being produced. This process is sometimes called the Information Cycle or Timeline.

Some forms of information do not adhere to this timeline, but rather can be created or modified at any time (for example: social media posts or online encyclopedias).

For more detailed information on these formats see the TRU (Thompson Rivers University) Libraries Information Cycle page.

For more information about utilizing resources from different time periods see our Primary Sources box.

We are indebted to the VIU (Vancouver Island University) Library Information Cycle page for some of this content.

Evaluating Sources

For more information see our Evaluating Resources page on this guide or our Evaluating Information guide.

Other Useful Guides

Health Sciences Guide
Science Guide
Sociology Guide
Use this Guide to help start your research in Sociology

Research Methods

See the Original Research & Research Methods page on this guide for detailed information on research methods.