Below are the workshops for Spring 2024. If you are interested in a topic but are unable to attend, our research librarians are happy to work with you one-on-one. Email us at reference@sarahlawrence.edu or book a research consultation at www.calendly.com/slcreference.
UPCOMING WORKSHOPS, SPRING 2024
Library Card Sign-Up -- Yonkers Public Library and NYPL
Thursday, April 11, 1-3 pm
Library Lobby
Did you know that as a Sarah Lawrence student, you qualify for library cards from Yonkers Public Library and New York Public Library? With these cards, you can access books, ebooks, magazines, databases, museum passes, and so much more—all for free! Stop by the Library lobby to sign up for your cards and to learn more about the resources available through both amazing library systems.
Part of our celebration of National Library Week.
Research After Graduation
Tuesday, April 23, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Graduating? Not going to be at Sarah Lawrence next year? Join us for an overview of how to conduct research in the "real world." We'll look at many ways of finding materials when you don't have access to the resources provided by Sarah Lawrence. We'll also cover the resources and services available to alumni.
Citation and Research Help Drop In
Thursday, April 25, 12:45 - 2 pm, Library Classroom E2
Have some last-minute questions about your research, citation, or digital projects? Swing by the Library! Three librarians will be on hand to help.
Citation and Research Help Drop In
Thursday, May 2, 12:45 - 2 pm, Library Classroom E2
Have some last-minute questions about your research, citation, or digital projects? Swing by the Library! Three librarians will be on hand to help.
PAST WORKSHOPS, SPRING 2024
Using the Catalog
Tuesday, January 23 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1)
The catalog is the gateway to all of the wonderful resources available through the Library. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to use the catalog to search for books and ebooks, request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), find course reserve materials, review your account, and more.
Researching with Databases
Thursday, January 25 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1)
Databases are an essential resource for your research. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to find and access the many databases available to you through the Library. We’ll cover how to select relevant databases, how to search for articles, how to download articles, and more.
The Magical Citation Manager: Zotero for Research Management
Tuesday, January 30 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1) and Zoom
https://zoom.us/j/98747636258?pwd=T1loTVp1M1BRZmIrY3RNbG5JWjJyUT09
Have you struggled keeping track of your conference research? Realized last minute that you don’t have all the citation information you need to include? Found yourself desperately re-doing your research because you can’t remember where you saved that super important source? Come to this workshop to learn how Zotero can help you keep track of your research for all your classes and projects, store and organize all kinds of sources, and ultimately generate your citations in virtually any citation style.
Using PubMed Like a Pro
Tuesday, February 6 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1) and Zoom
https://zoom.us/j/98747636258?pwd=T1loTVp1M1BRZmIrY3RNbG5JWjJyUT09
PubMed is the one of the largest and most comprehensive databases of biomedical research articles, covering genetics, neuroscience, public health, behavioral health, life sciences, and so many more. Come to this workshop to learn some of the specialized search functions that PubMed offers that allow you to search specifically and comprehensively on your topic!
PAST WORKSHOPS, FALL 2023
Library Tour
Tuesday, September 5 at 1pm in the Library Lobby
Start the semester with a walk through the library collection and study spaces. Learn how to locate books easily, browse the shelves effectively, and find the best little corner to study in this semester.
----------
----------
The catalog is the gateway to all of the wonderful resources available through the Library. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to use the catalog to search for books and ebooks, request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), find course reserve materials, review your account, and more.
----------
Tuesday, September 19 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1)
Have you ever wanted to work on a conference project that wasn't a standard essay? In this session we will brainstorm different types of conference projects using digital tools. Discussion will be led by Claudia Berger, the Digital Humanities Librarian, although this is open to students in all disciplines, not just humanities.
----------
Monday, October 16 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1)
Do you want to create a portfolio of your work? Or make a website for a class project? This workshop will look at a few options, WordPress and Google Sites, for putting your work online to help you pick the best tool for your needs. This will be led by Claudia Berger the Digital Humanities Librarian, although this is open to students in all disciplines, not just humanities.
----------
Tuesday, October 17 at 1 pm in the Lower Level Library Classroom (E1)
If you are interested in creating a podcast, for class or as a personal project, or any other audio-based storytelling, this workshop will cover the basics of audio editing using Audacity. This will be led by Claudia Berger, the Digital Humanities Librarian, although this is open to students in all disciplines, not just humanities.
Below are the workshops held in Spring 2023. If there are any topics below that you would like to learn more about, our research librarians would be happy to work with you one-on-one. Email us at reference@sarahlawrence.edu or book a research consultation at www.calendly.com/slcreference.
Library Tour
Thursday, January 26, 11am & 1pm
Start the semester with a walk through the library collection and study spaces. Learn how to locate books easily, browse the shelves effectively, and find the best little corner to study in this semester.
Meet at the Info Desk in the Library Lobby.
Using the Catalog
Thursday, February 2
The catalog is the gateway to all of the wonderful resources available through the Library. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to use the catalog to search for books and ebooks, request a book from another library (interlibrary loan), find course reserve materials, review your account, and more.
1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
6pm
On Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
Rethinking the Conference Project
Tuesday February 7, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Have you ever wanted to work on a conference project that wasn't a standard essay? In this session, we will brainstorm different types of conference projects with a focus on projects using digital tools. Discussion will be led by Digital Humanities Librarian Claudia Berger. This workshop is open to students in all disciplines, not just the humanities.
Researching with Databases
Thursday, February 9
Databases are an essential resource for your research. In this workshop, we’ll look at how to find and access the many databases available to you through the Library. We’ll cover how to select relevant databases, how to search for articles, how to download articles, and more.
1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
6pm
On Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
Thinking Through Time with Interactive Timelines
Tuesday February 14, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Does your research involve a lot of dates? Or are you looking at how movements develop over time? This workshop will explore creating interactive timelines to tell stories through the lens of time using TimelineJS. Discussion will be led by Digital Humanities Librarian Claudia Berger. This workshop is open to students in all disciplines, not just the humanities.
Using Pubmed Like a Pro
Thursday, February 16
Pubmed is the one of the largest and most comprehensive databases of biomedical research articles, covering genetics, neuroscience, public health, behavioral health, life sciences, and so many more. Come to this workshop to learn some of the specialized search functions that Pubmed offers that allow you to search specifically and comprehensively on your topic!
1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
6pm
On Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
Creating Narratives with Maps
Tuesday February 21, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Would adding a map help make your argument clearer? This workshop will show you how to create digital essays with maps and other media embedded within them using ArcGIS StoryMaps. Discussion will be led by Digital Humanities Librarian Claudia Berger. This workshop is open to students in all disciplines, not just the humanities.
Understanding and Using Google Scholar
Thursday, February 23
Google Scholar can be an incredibly helpful tool in the research process, but it also has some serious pitfalls. It needs a careful eye to differentiate the different kinds of sources that it may turn up—from scholarly works to fraudulent predatory journals, from “grey literature” to undergraduate papers. Learn how to use Google Scholar’s best tools without compromising the credibility of your research.
1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
6pm
On Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
Audio Storytelling and Scholarly Podcasts
Tuesday February 28, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Are you interested in podcasts or audio-based storytelling, whether for a class or as a personal project? This workshop will cover the basics of audio editing using Audacity. Discussion will be led by Digital Humanities Librarian Claudia Berger. This workshop is open to students in all disciplines, not just the humanities.
Understanding and Using Wikipedia
Thursday, March 2, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Learn about how Wikipedia works, and how to make it work for your research. We’ll also cover how Wikipedia works and how to create and edit content on the site.
Putting Your Work Online
Tuesday March 7, 1pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Do you want to create a portfolio of your work? Or make a website for a class project? This workshop will look at WordPress and Google Sites and cover how pick the best tool for your needs. Discussion will be led by Digital Humanities Librarian Claudia Berger. This workshop is open to students in all disciplines, not just the humanities.
Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon
Wednesday, March 8, 4pm to 7pm
Library Reading Room
Join us for our second annual Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon to try to close the gender gap on Wikipedia. As part of the Art + Feminism movement, we will focus on women in the arts, but you are welcome to work on articles on women in other fields.
The Magical Citation Manager: Zotero for Research Management
Thursday March 9
Have you struggled keeping track of your conference research? Realized last minute that you don’t have all the citation information you need to include? Found yourself desperately re-doing your research because you can’t remember where you saved that super important source? Come to this workshop to learn how Zotero can help you keep track of your research for all your classes and projects, store and organize all kinds of sources, and ultimately generate your citations in virtually any citation style.
1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
6pm
On Zoom: https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
What Is Data in the Humanities?
Tuesday, March 21, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
What does "data" mean for the humanities? Can a book be data? Or a painting? Let's have a conversation about humanities data, what you can use it for, and where to find it.
----------
All the Cinnamon Squirrels: An Intro to NYC Open Data
Thursday March 23, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
NYC Open Data has everything from the 2018 Central Park Squirrel Census, restaurant health inspections, and every film permit granted in the city. So how can you use it? This workshop will show you how to find, understand, and use the data from NYC Open Data.
----------
Tuesday, March 28, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
You have data, now what? This workshop will show you how to make data visualizations, like charts and graphs, to present your research.
----------
Using the New York Public Library Research Division
Wednesday, March 29, 6 pm
Did you know that you have access to the vast and phenomenal resources of the NYPL Research Division? Come learn about the virtual and physical resources as well as the assistance available to you through NYPL.
Presented by Mia Bruner, Librarian III, Instruction and Outreach, NYPL General Research Division
https://zoom.us/j/99149814532?pwd=ZkdCZkNOMGVmajJ2Slo0RjE0akhqQT09
----------
Researching Social Justice & Civil Rights with HeinOnline Databases
Thursday, March 30, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Explore databases focused on legal histories and scholarship pertaining to the civil rights movement, LGBTQ rights, and indigenous peoples. This workshop will also be helpful to those researching in politics, law, international relations, and global studies.
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, April 4, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------
Thursday, April 6, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Learn how to find and retrieve census data with a Census Bureau specialist. He will cover the differences between the Decennial Census and American Community Survey (ACS) and will explore the concepts needed to find datasets: population thresholds, geography relevance, question structure, table numbers, and mapping of variables. We will demonstrate the data.census.gov portal, and then look at data-retrieval problems together. Time permitting, we will take a quick look at the ACS Narrative Profile tool.
Presenter Bio: David Kraiker is a Data Dissemination Specialist at the US Census Bureau, where he has worked for 24 years. Previously at the Bureau, he worked as a Geographer in the local New York office.
----------
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, April 11, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------
Thursday, April 13, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
We all know that we aren’t supposed to plagiarize, but are you sure you know what it is and how to avoid it? Join us for this workshop where we will define plagiarism, learn how to paraphrase, discuss when to cite, and more.
----------
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, April 18, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------
Thursday, April 20, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
It’s not too late to add archival materials to your conference project research. But, archival research does require patience and planning. This workshop will offer a practical introduction to archival research, both in our own college archives and in archives at other institutions.
Interested folks who cannot attend this session are invited to set-up a one-on-one consultation with the archivist: https://calendly.com/christinakasman/archivesconsultation
----------
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, April 25, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------
Thursday, April 27, 12-2 pm
Library Lobby
Did you know that as a Sarah Lawrence student, you qualify for library cards from Yonkers Public Library and New York Public Library? With these cards, you can access books, ebooks, magazines, databases, museum passes, and so much more—all for free! Stop by the Library lobby to sign up for your cards and to learn more about the resources available through both amazing library systems.
Part of our celebration of National Library Week.
----------
Thursday, April 27, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your citation questions and learn how citation can be quick and easy.
----------
MAY
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, May 2, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------
Thursday, May 4, 1 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Graduating? Not going to be at Sarah Lawrence next year? Join us for an overview of how to conduct research in the "real world." We'll look at many ways of finding materials when you don't have access to the resources provided by Sarah Lawrence. We'll also cover the resources and services available to alumni.
----------
Digital Scholarship Lab
Tuesday, May 9, 1 – 2:30 pm
Library Classroom E1, Library Lower Level
Bring your own digital project to work on or take part in humanities data activities with the group. The Digital Humanities Librarian will be available to help support and troubleshoot any projects you are working on for your classes. If you don’t have a class project, there will be humanities data activities around text as data, image data, and spatial data.
----------