ArchiveGrid searches over 7 million records, including historical documents, personal papers, family histories, oral histories, and more, from more than 1,400 archival institutions. It's an excellent source for researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.
Using the Advanced Search function in the Sarah Lawrence College library catalog, researchers can discover archival collections and materials available through Sarah Lawrence College and beyond. Watch this brief video tutorial to learn how to search for archival materials in the library catalog:
The Sarah Lawrence College Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible materials documenting the history of Sarah Lawrence College from its conception in 1924 to the present.
Learn more about the Sarah Lawrence College Archives and their collections here or by clicking the links below:
Scrap Book Sarah Lawrence College War Board September 1942 - December 1946, Page 3. Courtesy of the Sarah Lawrence College Archives.
Primary sources are anything that is original to a person or an event. A primary source can be a diary written by someone living through a significant historic period, a newspaper article reporting on an event at the time of its occurrence, or a creative work, like a painting or a song. Primary sources can be found in archival collections, but they can also be found in a variety of formats and places beyond the archives. Some examples are listed below:
For a complete overview of primary source types and formats, visit the Primary Sources at Yale guide.
Roger Baldwin’s notebook on the Amistad Case. Baldwin Family Papers (MS 55). Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library.
The guides listed below all have pages highlighting primary sources for that particular subject area. Click on the links to be taken to the Primary Sources Page for that particular guide:
Interested in finding primary source material for a subject that isn't listed above? The research librarians at Sarah Lawrence can help. Book a one-on-one research consultation or reach out to us by email at reference@sarahlawrence.edu.
Librarian Tip:
Looking for archival materials surrounding a historical event? Just searching for the name of the event may not bring up all of the material that exists. Discovering archival material may require doing background research in reference sources and secondary sources such as books and research articles.
Once you have more information, try searching in ArchiveGrid, the WorldCat catalog, or even Google for the names of key people, organizations, and related events.
Still not coming up with much? Book a consultation. The research librarians at Sarah Lawrence College may be able to help you locate archival collections.