Skip to Main Content
Academic Newspaper Databases
ABI/Inform
A database which searches contents of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, and Dateline collections. Contains thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economic periodicals, and country and industry focused reports and downloadable data.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
A distributor of news from over 140 African publishers, (government, opposition-controlled, and independent) with stories posted daily in English and French. (Includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).
Scope: Africa.
Dates: 1997 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch contains and searches as one both Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covers 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Scope: United States and Canada.
Dates: 1959 to present.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1980 to present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text access for more than 60 U.S. and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Also contains full text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, and other stations.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 10,000 full text resources on news (national and international), legal information and business. General news topics and transcripts can be searched for by either a keyword or source title. Legal information can be searched by citation, parties involved, or topic. Company information can be searched by either company name, or ticker. A full company dossier is available. Searches can also be done by content type or by using the advanced search options.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: Varies.
Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals in the United States and Canada, as well as full-text of selected periodicals. More than 450 periodicals are included with full text access to articles for over 260 journals. Scope: United States and Canada.
Dates: 1983 to present (indexing); 1994 to present (full-text).
US Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1984 to present.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of U.S. historical newspaper titles from all 50 states. Search through news content in individual publications as well as images and advertisements.
Scope: United States.
Dates: 1690 to 1876.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch contains and searches as one both Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection. Ethnic NewsWatch, the current file, covers 1990 to present and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covers 1959-1989. Includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Scope: United States and Canada.
Dates: 1959 to present.
Gale Primary Sources
Includes: American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society; British Library Newspapers; and Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable text from 1851-2013. Digital reproductions of every page of the New York Times are available to be searched and researchers can also scan through the front pages, advertisements, editorials, obituaries, and other features of the newspaper. Searches can also be constructed for specific date ranges.
Scope: Worldwide.
Dates: 1851 to 2013.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full run of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library including national and regional newspapers, established country and university towns, and industrious areas of the Midlands, Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers which helped lead political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule are also included. Users can magnify or reduce digitized newspaper images and search through the article text.
Scope: Great Britain, Worldwide.
Dates: 1800 to 1900.
Free Newspaper Databases
Brooklyn Newspapers from Brooklyn Public Library
This freely available web resource contains approximately 147,000 pages of newspaper in various digital formats. Access is either by date of issue or by keyword search.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Search over 60,000 pages of historical newspapers from California from 1863 - 1922
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
"The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers."
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Search by newspaper title, state, date, or keyword to search across hundreds of historic American newspapers from 1836 - 1922. Users also have the option to highlight text, download pages as PDFs and more.
Google News Archive
Google News Archive allows you to search and access historic issues of major newspapers, magazines, and legal archives. There Search results include content that is freely accessible to all users as well as content that requires a fee to access (such as Washington Post Archives, NewspaperArchive.com, and New York Times Archives). Hundreds of U.S. and Canadian newspapers have been added recently, but an official list of titles and dates is not available.
HathiTrust
Search across various newspaper collections. Access may vary depending on the partnering institution. Use the advanced search to limit to a specific format.
ICON : International Coalition On Newspapers
ICON highlights different digitization projects from around the world. Please note, not every collection is freely available.
Internet Archive Newspapers
"The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files."
New York State Historic Newspapers
Search through historic newspapers from New York state, dates vary by title.
US News Map
Search historical newspapers from Library of Congress by geographic location.
Newspapers from Local Libraries
