LibGuides: Education: Curriculum & Lesson Plans

Learn More About

Common Core State Standards Initiative
Edutopia: Resources for Understanding the Common Core State Standards
EngageNY Created by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) this page is meant to help "support the implementation of key aspects of the New York State Board of Regents Reform Agenda."

Edutopia: Special Education Resources
National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) Includes link to Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 2004 (IDEA), parent-training and information centers, and more.

Resources for Building Lesson Plans

EDSITEment From the National Endowment for the Humanities this site offers teaching materials for Art and Culture, Foreign Languages, History and Social Studies, and Literature and Language Arts.
Ethics in Education Classroom/School Resources Lesson, activities, and strategies supplied by the Ethics in Education Network.
Lesson Planet A virtual curriculum department, with teacher-reviewed open educational resources, EdTech PD videos & courses, and more.
Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility: Teachable Moment Classroom Lessons "TeachableMoment, a project of Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility, fosters social responsibility by sharing free K-12 classroom lessons, activities and ideas with educators. "
New York State Education Department The webpage for the New York State Education Department offers information and updates on necessary information for teaching in the state. Additionally, it offers standards & curriculum, assessment tools, data, and more.
OER Commons "Open educational resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge."
PBS Learning Media "PBS LearningMedia provides PreK-12 educators with access to free digital content and professional development opportunities designed to improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement. "
Scholastic: Lessons & Ideas Lesson plans and ideas on a variety of topics, presented by Scholastic. While the resource is free, it might suggest specific books through the Scholastic Publishing House.
Share My Lesson "Free lesson sharing, funded by the American Federation of Teachers Built by educators across the country" that includes toddler - Grade 12 lesson plans on a plethora of topics.
Smithsonian Education Has an Educators and Students section for planning lessons and interactive learning for the students.
Ted Ed Searchable videos, with lesson content, to help students better understand and engage with topics.
Teaching Channel Teaching Channel is a non-profit organization that offers an online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques to help every student grow. The videos include lessons and planning information.
WatchKnowLearn Free educational videos, organized by subject and with a searchable index that has been compiled by the users. This includes sections on Climate Change, Climate, Meteorology, and more.
Zinn Project: Teaching a People’s History “The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people’s history in middle and high school classrooms across the country. Based on the lens of history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, the website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level. ”

Some resources listed here were found through Edutopia: Five-Minute Film Festival.

Google Arts & Culture Explore collections and stories about Art and Culture, from museums, organizations, and more. This resource can be utilized to give students a review of primary sources that tell a story about different themes in art and culture.
ReadWriteThink Free resources for building lessons on reading and language arts.

Librarian Tip: Many museums will have educator resources for specific artwork in their collection. Studying a piece of art or an artist held in a particular museum? Check out their page to see if they have resources for you.

National Archives : Teachers Resources Teach with documents using an online tool from the National Archives. You can also locate teachable primary sources, find new and favorite lesson plans, and create your own activities for your students.
Student Discovery Sets from Library of Congress Library of Congress Student Discovery Sets bring together historical artifacts and one-of-a-kind documents on a wide range of topics, from history to science to literature. Interactive tools let students zoom in, draw to highlight details, and conduct open-ended primary source analysis. Full teaching resources are available for each set.
USA.gov Lesson Plans Lesson plans and activities from the government, about the government.
Zinn Project: Teaching a People’s History
“The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people’s history in middle and high school classrooms across the country. Based on the lens of history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, the website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level. ”

Compound Interest Though this blog doesn't upload lesson plans, it does "aim to take a closer look at the chemical compounds we come across on a day-to-day basis and provides graphics for educational purposes, both for teacher and student use." The graphics can be useful for utilizing within the classroom, but also the blog posts can help to spur ideas, including the "This Week in Chemistry" series.
Edutopia: Ten Websites for Science Teachers Not a "top ten," but rather a list of ten useful resources for building lesson plans from a science teacher. The comments section also has some suggestions (though be sure to vet a site before clicking on unknown links).
ToxMystery Interactive tool that provides a fun experience while teaching about household chemical hazards. For children from 7-11 years old. Also included are teacher activities and lesson plans.

Education

Using Primary Sources

Further Information for Lesson Planning

Learn More About

Resources for Building Lesson Plans